I ‘Baga Pardon?… French Fries!!

So. I love french fries. I mean I don’t just like them but I am truly, madly, deeply (shout out to Savage Garden) in love with french fries. I said it. The dietitian has a weakness for french fries!! I can see the headlines now… But if we are being honest, they are often one of my weaknesses. Now, how often do I give into them? Not often. Not nearly as often as I give into ice cream… 🙂

I’ve tried the whole “make sweet potato fries instead” bit but they aren’t the same. I mean, I love sweet potatoes and we eat them often. But if I am going to take the time to cut them into fries then I want sugar and cinnamon on those bad boys… and marshmallow dipping sauce. So to me sweet potato fries are more like a dessert substitute, that can be made just as unhealthy if you aren’t careful! Anyways, we skip sweet potato fries a lot at The Shelby Residence. They just aren’t the same, and not a good substitute for a REAL french fry.

 

A month ago Jess and I took a quick day trip to NOLA- literally one of our most favorite places to hop in the car and drive to with no luggage or worries. It is truly like a mini getaway from the world. And everytime we go, we skip out on counting calories for the day as I embrace my inner foodie (or inner fatty, whichever you prefer). We go to all the “must” locations and sometimes we find little dives as well. I adore New Orleans, mainly to shop.. and eat. So on this particular trip we found a burger joint before we came home. No chain crappy burger joint- one where they made all things heavenly! And with the burgers came the most amazing fries… they had the typical salt and grease upon grease but the difference was-you could get them with ROSEMARY. Rosemary is one of my latest herb obsessions. Of course I let myself indulge a little (making sure that I worked out that following day!) and it was totally worth it. BUT after that meal, I found myself craving those little fries for days afterwards… So what did I do? Found a healthy substitute!

RUTABAGA!

 

We tried rutabaga for the first time a couple months ago and Jess actually liked them! (one point for the wife!) Not long after that I thought, gosh I wonder how these would be cut skinny like fries… then Pinterest informed me that I wasn’t the first person out there to think about this!  So after my New Orleans fries experience, I put my own little spin on them.

 

Rutabaga

Rutabaga Fries

Ingredients:

  • One rutabaga
  • 2 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • Rosemary, fresh, chopped
  • Garlic Salt

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Wash and peel rutabaga. Cut into thin, fry-like slices.
  3. Coat fries in 2 Tbsp. olive oil and seasoning as desired.
  4. Bake for 30-35 minutes until crispy.

 

Rutabaga fries

Easy! And if you aren’t a rosemary fan, you can put whatever herbs/seasonings you’d like!

 

Want to learn more about nutrition and receive a plan specific for you? click here.

One thought on “I ‘Baga Pardon?… French Fries!!

Leave a Reply

