Pumpkins, little turkeys, and cookies oh my!!!

I run across people more often than not, who think that if I am eating a cookie or fried chicken then I am the ULTIMATE HYPOCRITE UNEDUCATED DIETITIAN.

oreogirl

photo from aquickbite.net

Give. Me. A. Break.

I grew up eating fried chicken, cornbread, cookies, cakes and pies at every possible family gathering  just like every other southern girl I know. If you say you didn’t, you’re lying and we all know it!!! In my family, we “gather” at least monthly for a birthday, holiday, graduation, or just because we haven’t seen each other in a few weeks.  Life would be complete misery if I didn’t allow myself to eat some bread pudding when it was staring me in the face at Thanksgiving. Now, do I take down the whole pan? No. It’s called moderation. And we’ve covered that topic many times before.

So- my point is, I am human just like everyone else. And in celebrating my “humanness” I have had some serious cookie fever lately. To me, the onset of cool weather means that the holidays are coming. And when the holidays are here, that means that every other day is filled with some form of dessert. If you know me, you know that I have put many many hours into baking several batches of sugar cookies, cupcakes, or cheesecakes until I get it absolutely perfected. Then I move on to the next recipe to perfect. Jess tends to gain 3-5 pounds during the holidays because of course, he is my professional taster.

So. To start my holiday baking off right, I have been searching high and low for a great pumpkin recipe. There is something about pumpkins. When October 1st hits, I am begging Jess to let us carve pumpkins. Every single time he  says “No baby, they will be rotten by Halloween.” and every time I respond by saying, WHO CARES!! I am just obsessed with pumpkins… eating them, carving them, and even painting them.

girlshalloween2013_Snapseed

Check out my little turkey nieces with their painted pumpkins on Halloween

So, after Jess refused to taste test a pumpkin soup I wanted to try, we settled on pumpkin cookies. Of course, nothing satisfied me so I tweaked a recipe to create my own!

Butterscotch Pumpkin Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 c canned pumpkin
  • 8 oz. unsweetened applesauce (two 4 oz snack containers)
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • 2 c all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. milk
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 & 1/2 c butterscotch chips

Instructions:

  1. Mix together sugar, pumpkin, applesauce, and the egg.
  2. In a separate bowl dissolve  baking soda with the milk and stir. Then mix in flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt.
  3. Mix pumpkin mixture and flour mixture, Then add vanilla and butterscotch chips.
  4. Drop on a greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes.
Thank you to Melissa Boguslawski for this lovely pic of her pumpkin butterscotch cookies!

Thank you to Melissa Boguslawski for this lovely pic of her pumpkin butterscotch cookies!

Leave a Reply

