Grocery low-down: Low-cal dessert bars!

Like I have said from the very beginning, just because I am a dietitian does not mean that I eat perfectly. If you follow me on any social media networks then you know that my husband and I are constantly eating waffles for breakfast on the weekends and that I tend to eat some form of dessert at least twice a week after dinner. I adore sugar. It is a constant battle with myself to try to cut sugar out of my diet, but lately I have just let it be what it is.

As many of you may dread the grocery store, I am one of those weirdos who love it (unless of course it is Wal-Mart). WAY too much of our income in spent on groceries, but luckily I have a husband who loves to eat. Quite often I run across new items that I am curious about and just end up buying them to check them out. I figure that since I am wasting my money on them, then I should inform my readers whether or not they should waste their money on them as well. So, my most recent new find is the Yoplait Greek Frozen Yogurt Bars.

yoplaitbars_Snapseed

I chose the Honey Caramel flavor because I am obsessed with all things honey lately. In fact, I eat Greek Yogurt with a little honey in it every morning for breakfast. Here is the nutrition label for one bar.

yoplaitlabel_Snapseed

I am still working on my photography skills so let me recap some of the nutrition content. One bar= 90 calories, 1.5 g fat, 1 g saturated fat, 13 g carbohydrate, 12 g sugar, and 5 g protein.

So how does this compare to other things? Well if I wasn’t eating this bar for dessert, I’d either be having a “create you own” kind of cup from Menchies (my favorite) or going to Dairy Queen and getting a Mini Cookie Dough Blizzard. So let’s see how the Blizzard would compare. One MINI Cookie Dough Blizzard= 420 calories, 16 g fat, 9 g saturated fat, 62 g carbohydrate, 45 g sugar, 8 g protein.

You could have four of these bars for one Mini Blizzard. 

Now the important part, did it taste good? HECK YES! I was so impressed with this bar. It was so creamy it felt like I was eating true, full fat ice cream. Also, Greek Yogurt can tend to have a tart taste to it and this bar did not have that taste at all. It was so good and I felt like I had satisfied my sweet tooth before i even ate it all, so I gave the rest to Jess who liked it as well!

Now, don’t go around saying that “the dietitian told me I could eat four of these a day, and they are healthy.” Uh, no. I am saying that if you are like me and absolutely NEED something sweet sometimes, these are a fabulous low-calorie alternative that contain protein too!

3 thoughts on “Grocery low-down: Low-cal dessert bars!

  1. Constance, this is so funny!! I went to Kroger last night and saw these and debated whether or not to get them… and then I came across an alternative. I bought some frozen greek yogurt cups by Healthy Choice. They’re 100 cals a pop, and come in several flavors, but I bought the vanilla bean to try first. They’re super yummy and really creamy like you said, but have that little tart kick afterwards. I’ll have to go home and compare nutrition labels to see how they stack up! Great post!!

  2. This is yiayia reading your article very interesting and well done. Enjoyed it. Will have to try those bars. Do they come in chocolate.

Leave a Reply

