No good, not healthy, will make you fat Christmas.

We are in a season of joy, happiness, stress (hopefully only a little) and Christmas cheer. With this season usually comes some weight gain because we can’t pass up all the goodies at the office, the fun parties, and in my husband’s case the goodies he comes home to every night that I have baked for “practice.” As I have preached from the beginning, being healthy is all about moderation. That means that during this time, let yourself indulge a little. I am not saying to eat fudge and divinity every single day between now and January 1st, but don’t completely deprive yourself of the desserts you absolutely love. With that said, to wrap up this holiday season and give all my readers a Christmas gift, I am going to give you guys one of my favorite recipes and it is absolutely positively NOT HEALTHY. So Merry Christmas!!!

I truly enjoy baking and making sweets. It is a weakness that I have decided to embrace. Although I am a nutrition freak, I still come from a long long line of fabulous bakers and candy makers. My grandmother on my dad’s side makes the absolute best cakes, cookies, and pies EVER. My grandparents on my mom’s side are Greek are I grew up learning how to make unique greek cookies and pastries. Also my grandfather’s dad owned a candy shop in Ohio during his childhood so you can only imagine the chocolates, peanut brittle, and other yummy candy recipes that circulate through my life.

With that said, I believe that I have gotten my tendency to be a perfectionist when cooking from both sides of my family! I have been working on my sugar cookie recipe since Halloween and I finally have it the way I want it. This recipe does have a slight almond flavor. If you don’t want the almond flavor, just don’t add the almond extract! Enjoy!

xmascookie_Snapseed

Almond Sugar Cookie Recipe

Ingredients:

  • for cookies

    • 3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
    • 2 tsp baking powder
    • 1 cup sugar
    • 1 egg
    • 1 cup butter, cold
    • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract
    • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • for icing

    • 2 1/4 cups confectioners sugar,sifted
    • 2 tbsp light corn syrup
    • 3 to 4 tbsp milk (or more)
    • 3/4 tsp almond extract
    • Food coloring

Instructions:

  1. Combine the flour and baking powder, set aside. Cream the sugar and butter with a mixer. Add the egg, vanilla extract, and almond extract and continue to mix. Slowly add the flour mixture and beat until all mixed together. Don’t beat too much, just until dough is crumbly.
  2. Scoop dough out of bowl and roll onto a floured surface. Make sure you have a lot of flour for this… for rolling pin, cookie cutters, etc. DOUGH IS STICKY. Cut into desired shapes and put shapes on parchment paper lined baking sheets. Place entire baking sheet in the freezer for 5 minutes. Remove and bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes. All0w to cool completely before decorating.
  3. To make icing, blend all ingredients with a mixer and then add the food color of choice. You may need to add more milk, depending on how thin you want the icing.I ice my cookies by laying them on a cooling rack, putting parchment paper underneath the rack and slowly pouring the icing over the cookies. This is much easier and prettier to me than icing with a spatula.

This will be my last post of 2012! I will resume around the second week of January due to the holidays and a short vacation! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

