Crockpot Crazy: Chicken Taco Soup

Somebody please tell my husband to buy this for me!!!

Fall of 2011 was the time that some of my ideas on marriage and my role as “Super Wife” came tumbling down on the top of my head. One day about four months after Jess and I had been married, I got a huge reality check that I couldn’t be my husband’s and my household’s do all/be all all the time. Not that Jess ever asked or expected me to (he’d be the happiest man alive with us just sitting on the couch watching ESPN and eating Cheez-Its and m&ms for supper), it was more like the expectation I created of myself prior to our marriage. I know some of you know what I’m talking about here… Anyways so around that time I decided it was unrealistic to expect myself to make eight course meals every single night AFTER I had already busted it at work each day. Not to mention, these luxurious meals made me gain close to six pounds!

So, what was my solution you ask?? CROCKPOT!!!! Best invention ever. I have tried so many meals in my crockpot so far and I cannot wait to try more this year. My chicken taco soup recipe is definitely a house favorite…. we’ve already had it three times since October. Now, I cannot claim this recipe- I got it from a friend who got it from his mom. I have changed it a little to suit our taste but it is basically the same. This recipe makes a lot of soup… especially when it is just us two. We usually put some in the refrigerator for leftovers and the rest in the freezer to have later.

Crockpot Chicken Taco Soup

Ingredients:

  • 3 chicken breasts, cooked and cubed
  • 1 can black beans
  • 2 can corn
  • 1 jar black bean and corn salsa (we use mellow)
  • 2 cans chicken broth
  • 1 can Rotel
  • I package taco seasoning
  • Optional: Avocado, sour cream, shredded cheese, tortilla chips to top

Directions:

  1. Dump all ingredients into Crockpot. Do not drain the corn or black beans.
  2. Cook on high for ~4 hours or until ready, or cook on low ~8 hours and have supper ready when you get home from work!

Per Serving (1 cup):

128 calories, 0 g fat, 16 mg cholesterol, 16 g carbohydrate, 1,192 mg sodium, 0 g fiber, 8 g sugar, 8 g protein

This recipe is low in calories, but has a great deal of sodium. If sodium is a concern, use frozen or fresh veggies, less taco seasoning and add more herbs and spices! I am usually not a fan of canned vegetables, but I make an exception for this quick and easy soup on busy days! You can always tweak it to your needs and liking! And remember- don’t smother it with cheese and chips or you will add wayyyy more calories!

One thought on “Crockpot Crazy: Chicken Taco Soup

  1. Pingback: Smothered Chicken | familyrecipebooks

Leave a Reply

