♥ Pumpkin & Liam Lovin’ ♥

So since my last blog I have been out of town several times for work, have had an ill grandmother in the hospital who is improving daily (PRAISE JESUS!) and have become a fourth-time aunt to my very first NEPHEW!!

William Mancil Dearman IV. AKA: Liam. Yes, I am aware that he is the cutest thing on the planet. Exactly 6lbs and 18 inches long. My father has only been trying 35 years for a boy. Four daughters later…  he FINALLY gets a grandson! Can we say spoiled?

Now that I am done with my  excuses for why I am behind on my blog… Let’s talk about pumpkin.

I am not sure if it is for blog purposes or because I am becoming a more mature and diverse individual (I’d like to tihnk its the latter), but not only am I forcing my husband to try new things lately, I want to try new things too! I have never been fond of pumpkin flavored anything but it’s really because I don’t try pumpkin flavored things. So first, I attempted a pumpkin spiced coffee and then took a big step and made a pumpkin bread. I chose to add chocolate chips because I knew my husband would be more willing to try it 😉 And of course I took it bit further and tried a cute idea that I saw in the October edition of Family Circle magazine in line at the grocery store…. except my version of the recipe was very different and had less calories!

So for my first pumpkin included baking extravaganza, I made chocolate chip pumpkin bread in the shape of pumpkins!

(For this recipe, you will need a mini bundt pan.)

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread Pumpkins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ¼ cup unsweetened applesauce
  • ¼ cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • ¾ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ cup semisweet chocolate chips

(If making pumpkins):

  • Powdered sugar
  • Milk
  • Wheat pretzel twists
  • Sprinkles, food coloring, etc

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine sugar, pumpkin, applesauce, yogurt, and egg whites. Mix well.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking soda, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt.
  4. Add flour mixture to pumpkin mixture until all ingredients are just blended.
  5. Spoon in chocolate chips.
  6. Pour into well-greased mini bundt pans, filling each about halfway. (Can also pour into a loaf pan)
  7. Bake for about 45 minutes.
  8. Cool completely before making pumpkins.

To make pumpkins:

  1. After mini bundts are cooled, carefully remove them from pan.
  2. Use a serrated knife to cut the tops off of the mini bundts.
  3. Blend milk and powdered sugar to make a thick icing.
  4. Spread icing on bundts on the side where the top was cut off.
  5. Stack two bundts face down on top of one another and place wheat twist pretzel in the center to make the pumpkin stem.
  6. If desired, coat the pumpkin with icing, sprinkles, etc. to create your own unique pumpkins!

I tried to go easy on the icing for calorie purposes but i felt like they still turned out just as cute 🙂

One thought on “♥ Pumpkin & Liam Lovin’ ♥

Leave a Reply

