Eggplant a la Husband

Eggplant

Eggplant (Photo credit: NellieMcS)

Eggplant is not one of those vegetables (well actually it’s a fruit) that I grew up eating. No reason, it was just rare in our household. I mean you don’t typically hear kids say “Hey mom, I’m craving eggplant!” It was in college where I first encountered an eggplant dish, when my roommate went on a short and sweet vegetarian spurt. Although the vegetarianism didn’t stick with me, the love for eggplant did.

Eggplant is not only a great meat substitution but it is full of health benefits. It is made up of mostly water, very low in calories, and a good source of dietary fiber. It is rich in phytochemicals, aka natural chemicals found in plants that are good for your health. The fiber in eggplant can help improve colon health, and some research shows that the phytochemicals in eggplant may reduce cholesterol levels.

So now that we know that eggplant is fabulous–Jess and I took a little trip over to the farmer’s market this weekend and I BEGGED him to let me buy an eggplant and cook it for him. It was like the twilight zone when he simply said “sure” like eggplant was no big deal in his book… typically everything at the farmers market (besides the men making homemade crafts) is a HUGE deal to him! So I grabbed that eggplant and didn’t give him a second to change his mind.

Once we got home I asked how he wanted me to make it. I figured he’d want me to disguise it in a dish like Eggplant Parmesan so he could cover it in spaghetti sauce (marriage is about compromise after all) but he said he’d rather have it breaded and baked.

Eggplant a la Husband (serves 2-3)

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Wash and slice eggplant (we prefer thin slices).
  3. Put egg whites in one bowl, and bread crumbs in another. Coat each slice of eggplant with egg white then dip into bread crumbs. Lay eggplant slices on a greased baking sheet.
  4. Bake eggplant for a total of 35 minutes, removing from oven after 20 minutes in and flipping to opposite side.
  5. About two minutes before removing from oven, top with mozzarella cheese (if desired).

Nutrition Information

Per Serving:

179 calories, 2 g fat, 0 mg cholesterol, 32 g carbohydrate, 302 mg sodium, 5 g fiber, 5 g sugar, 8 g protein

We had this as a part of our Meatless Monday and had other vegetables with it, so there were leftovers. I am so happy to report that my husband said it was very good and he would definitely eat it again. He even said that he preferred it WITHOUT cheese on top! Hopefully in the future we can try more complex eggplant dishes, but if not I won’t be upset. This is easy and he likes it and as long as I am getting a vegetable into that man’s belly I am S-A-T-I-S-F-I-E-D.

3 thoughts on “Eggplant a la Husband

  1. Pingback: Benefit of Eggplant « Reflections with Rhonda

Leave a Reply

