Spinach Strawberry Salad

Spinach Strawberry Salad (serves 4):

  • 10 oz of spinach
  • ~10 strawberries
  • 1/3 cup low-fat feta cheese crumbles
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • Salt

Dressing (1 serving= 2 Tbsp, makes about 7 servings):

  • 1 Tbsp poppy seeds
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • a splash of balsamic vinegar, to your liking

Directions:

  1. Blend all dressing ingredients together and refrigerate.
  2. Put a teaspoon of olive oil in a pan and heat. Add raw slivered almonds. Make sure all almonds are coated in olive oil. Let almonds brown then flip to other side. When done cooking, spoon almonds onto paper towel and place another on top to soak up the oil. Add salt, if desired.
  3. Wash and tear spinach into bite-sized pieces.
  4. Wash and slice strawberries.
  5. Mix all ingredients and top with dressing.

Option: add grilled chicken or shrimp

Tip on dressing: a little bit goes a LONG way so start with a Tbsp, mix, then add gradually

Nutrition Information:

Salad Per Serving:

131 calories, 6 g fat, 5 mg cholesterol, 18 g carbohydrate, 201 mg sodium, 5 g fiber, 10 g sugar, 6 g protein

Dressing Per Serving:

119 calories, 10 g fat, 0 mg cholesterol, 7 g carbohydrate, 24 mg sodium, 0 g fiber, 6 g sugar, 0 g protein

Now, let me start off by saying that I DO NOT operate well with serving sizes. When I cook, I tend to just add a “bit” of this and “some” of that. I have vowed to try to do a better job of measuring for my blog’s sake, and I feel like I did pretty well for this first time! Also, this dish is the first meal that I fixed after Jess made his promise to try new things on occasion (read “About Constance” and you will understand). Those of you who know him know that this is a HUGE deal. In the past, Jess’s idea of healthy has been skipping dessert at the buffet. Right now he actually does eat salad, but his salad usually consists of lettuce, croutons, cheese, and ranch dressing. I have never complained because I feel like something is better than nothing BUT there is a time when we all have to spread our wings. So for this first one, I figured go big or go home. I informed him that I was making spinach strawberry salad for bible study at the house, and he could not complain because he made me a promise! Other than the almonds, there was absolutely nothing in this salad that my husband was going to volunteer to eat on his own. I did choose to add chicken to ours just so the poor thing wouldn’t act like he was being starved.

So the girls came over for bible study and I made a point not to tell them it was a new recipe. When I say that they were raving over it, I am not exaggerating. They went back for seconds-success! Although, I must say that the ULTIMATE triumph was when I got a text from my husband (he was asked to excuse himself during girls only bible study) saying that he would be glad to eat that salad twice a week. I felt like an absolute rockstar. My stardom continued after bible study when he told me twice more that it was the best salad he has ever had.

Now, I cannot lie… Jess is not a strawberry fan. He ate around them, but he demolished everything else. I feel like he made a great stride, considering. I am sure that once I continue to make it he will eventually give in and try a strawberry. That my friends, will be a day of full on celebration in the Shelby home.

3 thoughts on “Spinach Strawberry Salad

  1. Pingback: Chanhassen Dinner Theaters « Reflections with Rhonda

  2. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for
    such info a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

