I SCREAM YOU SCREAM WE ALL SCREAM FOR….broccoli???

In the health world, moderation is a word repeated far too often in order to get some sort of vital point across. Sweets in moderation, alcohol in moderation, everything in moderation… but what does moderation REALLY mean?

Merriam- Webster defines moderate as:
To lessen the intensity or extremeness of

Aka: Don’t binge out on Oreos every single day, but a couple every now and then won’t kill you.

A large reason for my wanting to start this blog is because I am sick of reading about how people should participate in low-carb, no-carb, all-carb diets or better yet, pay a ton of money to live off of a shake for the rest of your life. The “diet” trends seem to change daily and it is frustrating to see so many people waste their money on the next big thing. All I’m saying is, no thanks. These diets are typically not very healthy, they are not enjoyable, and they are certainly not something that you can do for the rest of your life. If it seems too good to be true, it probably is. If someone is talking about how they lost 20 pounds in one month, call them up three months later and you are likely to hear that they re-gained the 20 pounds, plus 10 more. The only way to stay healthy and enjoy all of the foods you love is through MODERATION.

Whenever I go to my parents house for dinner, it is almost understood that my aunt and uncle are going to drive over and we are all going to pile up in the car and go get ice cream. The ice cream is good and all but the best part is the socializing and making memories with my family. It has become a tradition. I, even as a dietitian, am always going to get ice cream on that trip.

Let’s just face the facts- a majority of memories made involve food in one way or another, especially in the south. I highly encourage people to find other ways to socialize and enjoy the company of their loved ones, but more times than not, food ends up as the center of attention. Think about it- would you be nearly as excited to go to your family reunion if you knew that your Mammaw’s chess squares and your Aunt Lynda’s potato salad wouldn’t be there? Would you be okay with celebrating your birthday without cake and ice cream? Of course not! Foods that you adore and the temptation to eat them are always going to be around. If you absolutely worship m&m’s (like me) and during a “diet”, you vow to never eat chocolate ever again, you are setting yourself up for misery and failure! Eventually, you will have a bad day at work, fail a test, fight with your best friend, WHATEVER and find yourself eating enough bags of those absolutely divine pretzel m&m’s to make up for an entire year without!

I believe that no one should ever let a “diet” hold them back from making memories and occasionally eating the foods that they love. The key is to be smart about it. Like I said, I am always going to get ice cream with my aunt and uncle, but the amount of calories I have already taken in for that day will influence my selection and portion size. If I do happen to go overboard, totally by accident of course, then I know that I will just have to work a little harder at the gym the next day. It is not the end of the world. It is simply balance.

Through my blogging I hope to help readers understand the importance of moderation and begin practicing it in their own lives. I will assist by providing credible information regarding nutrition and health practices. I will also supply healthy and tasty recipes so that you can afford to have your ice cream, or other splurge of choice on occasion. My overall goal is for people to become more educated about the things they are putting into their bodies and using that information to decide what is worth it, and what is not.

3 thoughts on “I SCREAM YOU SCREAM WE ALL SCREAM FOR….broccoli???

  1. Thanks for this wonderful word, MODERATION ….I’m constantly saying, “watch your portions” to my daughter and now she is telling me she is sick of that word. My new word is MODERATION !

  2. Constance, this is amazing. First I want you to know how very proud we are of you. You are so wonderful at what you do and I know your heart is in your job and care and concern for people’s health. Second, I am so thankful for the memories we make every time we go get icecream:)) and I am so thankful yall cherish the memories as much as we do. We love you very much and keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

